stories and pictures

July 13, 2010

In my first grade class the other day, one of the boys, Charlie, found a small, dirty white thing on the classroom floor.  He held it up and said “Teacher, what?”  So, I had him bring it up to me for inspection.  It wasn’t anything recognizable to me, so I told him to just throw it away.  (side note:  Telling kids to throw things away always poses a problem, as there are not trash cans in any of the classrooms- why, I don’t know.  So, telling a kid to throw something away is the same as telling her/him to throw it on the ground.  Usually I just have them hand the thing to me, and I throw it away in the teacher’s room after class.)  As he was on his way back to his desk, one of the other students asked Charlie if the mystery object was candy.  He still had it in his hand, and before I had a chance to do anything about it, he popped it in his mouth.  His initial response was a firm “no.”  But, after a split-second contemplation, he changed his mind, “yes, candy!”, he exclaimed as I told him to spit it out.  “Charlie, it’s dirty, throw it away.”  I’m not a germaphobe but this thing was gross.  He spit it out and dropped it on the ground by his desk.  I went back to the book I was reading to the kids.  Charlie, seeing his opportunity, reached down, picked up the candy and started to put it in his backpack.  I looked up just as he dropped it in his bag.  He was determined to have that candy later, if he couldn’t have it now.  The little sneak.

In one of my 6th grade classes, I was trying desperately to get the students engaged (the lesson for the day was not doing the trick), so I started asking them about movies.  I’d noticed posters around town for the new Twilight movie, and even though I wasn’t sure how popular it was here, I figured they would have at least heard of it.  I asked if anyone wanted to see it.  One girl perked up and started telling me how much she loved Twilight (although she thought the illustrated characters in the books were much more attractive than the actors and actresses picked for the movie).  She quickly pulled out a notebook on which she had written “I love Adward”.  I told her that Edward is spelled with an “E” not a “A”. She glared at her twin brother (I found out later that he told her it was spelled with an “A”) and began fixing her mistake.  “Teacher, very very very very thank you”, she said sincerely.

Last month, I made my first trip to a Korean doctor.  A friend told me about a doctor in town who speaks english, and his office happens to be in the same building as the kindergarten where I work.  I’d heard that health care here is really great… it was amazing.  I didn’t have to wait at all, the doctor was thorough, the office visit cost $3 and the prescriptions (5 different medicines) cost $4.50 total.

The South Korean soccer team (the Red Devils) made it to the World Cup, so we joined in the festivities.


cute kid pictures:

Cassie

4 Responses to “stories and pictures”

  1. Mom Says:

    As always, love your blog. The pictures of you and the teachers are cute, but gosh those kids are adorable!

  2. whitney Says:

    Is that first picture of Scott? Cause, if so, he looks a lot different than I remember….

  3. Michelle Says:

    Another fun blog. I’m so glad you are writing it. I always have funny stories to tell my friends.

  4. Mom Says:

    hahaha, Whitney. I guess my wish of getting one of those cute Korean kids for a grandchild is not so far-fetched, since Scott looks Korean now!


Leave a Reply

